Sign Up

Mason Hall, Fredonia, NY 14063

View map Free Event

Four Percussionists in Search of a Soloist: Percussion Quartets of Tan Dun and Ligeti.

Faculty Performers: 

Kay Stonefelt, percussion

Natasha Farny, cello

Lynne McMurtry, contralto

In collaboration with Fredonia School of Music student percussionists


Elegy: Snow in June

(composed 1991) by Tan Dun (b. 1957)

  • For percussion quartet and solo cello

Síppal, dobbal, nádihegedüvel

(composed 2000) by György Ligeti (1923 - 2006)

This exceptional program features three strong women lead performers presenting rarely-performed works that employ an unusual array of percussion instruments (at least 30 different percussion instruments, some of which are rare and difficult to acquire).  Don't miss this rare opportunity to hear these works by Tan Dun  (b.1957 ... a very exciting composer of classical and movie music, including the score to Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) and Gyorgy Ligeti (1923 - 2006 ... one of the most important avant-garde composers of the 20th century).


This event will be live streamed


Event is free.

Event Details

  • Ralph J Blasting
  • Jennifer L Darrell-Sterbak
  • Margaret R Frazer
  • Yuying

4 people are interested in this event